2020 CRRF Virtual Conference:
Supporting Rural
Recovery & Resilience


October 1-2, 2020, hosted online by the Rural Policy Learning Commons

As we have post-poned our planned trip to Rimouski, Quebec to a time when we can all be together in person, the Canadian Rural Revitalization Foundation is hosting a 'Virtual Conference' this fall to share highlights from the CRRF Rural Insight Series: COVID-19.

Join us for two full days of FREE content and interactive discussions - you don't want to miss this jam-packed program of rural researchers and thought leaders as they share rural-specific lessons and insights about the challenges and opportunities posed by the pandemic.

CRRF is delighted to offer this high-value virtual event for free. If you are planning to attend and able to do so, please consider becoming a member of CRRF or making a donation to help us continue supporting rural research and researchers across Canada.

Both days of the conference run from 11.00AM to 4.30PM (EDT, GMT-04:00) and are being hosted on Zoom by the Rural Policy Learning Commons. The Virtual Conference is being offered 'a la carte' style, so you can choose the sessions that are most interesting to you and work with your schedule by registering for each session separately.

Click the buttons under each session below to register, visit the 'Register Today' button at the very top of this page, or click here to reserve your spot!


Day 1: October 1, 2020

Opening
8.00-8.15AM PDT/11.00-11.15AM EDT/12.00-12.15 ADT

Kyle Rich, Conference Chair
Sarah Minnes, President - Canadian Rural Revitalization Foundation

Keynote: The Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development
8.15-9.00AM PDT/11.15AM-12.00PM EDT/12.15-1.00PM ADT
This session will be followed by a special Q&A session. Make sure to submit your questions in advance via social media!

Plenary Panel: Rural and Island Resilience
9.00-10.00AM PDT/12.00-1.00PM EDT/1.00-2.00PM ADT
Supporting Rural Recovery and Resilience After COVID-19
Island Responses to COVID-19

Laurie Brinklow, Heather Hall, Ryan Gibson, Sean Markey

BREAK
10.00-11.AM PDT/1.00-2.00PM EDT/2.00-3.00PM ADT

Panel: Care and Community
11.00AM-12.00PM PDT/2.00-3.00PM EDT/3.00-4.00PM ADT
Long-Term Residential Care, COVID-19 and a “Political Culture of Neglect”: Implications for Rural: Al Lauzon
Rural Mental Health During COVID-19: Kathleen Kevany
Gender-Based Violence in Rural and Remote Communities: Katie Allen

New Researchers Forum
12.00-1.30PM PDT/3.00-4.30PM EDT/4.00-5.30 ADT
An annual highlight - everyone is welcome to join us for an informal and conversational round-table discussion about the experiences of new and early career researchers. Join us!


Day 2: October 2, 2020

OPENING
8.00-8.15AM PDT/11.00-11.15AM EDT/12.00-12.15 ADT
Kyle Rich, Conference Chair
Sarah Minnes, President - Canadian Rural Revitalization Foundation

Update from the Rural Policy Learning Commons
8.15-8.30AM PDT/11.15AM-11.30AM EDT/12.15-12.30 ADT

Changing Patterns in People and Products
8.30-10AM PDT/11.30AM-1.00PM EDT/12.30-2.00PM ADT
Exports, Imports, and Local Economic Resilience: Karen Foster
The Impacts of COVID-19 on Canadian Agriculture and the Agri-Food Sector: Emily C. Sousa & Sara Epp
Supporting Newcomers and Migrants in Rural Canada During and After COVID-19: Lou Helps & Ray Silvius
Employment: Victoria Agyepong & Ray Bollman

BREAK
10.00-11.AM PDT/1.00-2.00PM EDT/2.00-3.00PM ADT

Panel: Innovating through Infrastructure
11.00AM-12.00PM PDT/2.00-3.00PM EDT/3.00-4.00PM ADT
Addressing the Digital Divide: COVID-19 and the Importance of Connecting Rural Canada: Ashleigh Weeden & Wayne Kelly
Challenges with Rural Drinking Water Infrastructure Operations and Maintenance in Rural Newfoundland and Labrador During COVID-19: Deatra Walsh & Amy Hudson
Rethinking Infrastructure Investments: Supporting Post-Pandemic Rural Recovery and Climate Resilience through Green Infrastructure: Jay Maloney & Paul Kraehling

CRRF AGM + Social Hour
12.00-1.30PM PDT/3.00-4.30PM EDT/4.00-5.30 ADT
Members are invited to join the Annual General Meeting, to be followed by an informal virtual social hour.